/**/

Google Chrome tracks users and 'syncing' user data without asking their permission

Google Chrome tracks users and 'syncing' user data without asking their permission
Google Chrome automatically logs in users to their online accounts users and 'syncing' user data without asking their permission has “enormous implications for user privacy and trust. it could be tracking what users are doing without them being aware of it, according to an expert in digital content protection. A few weeks ago Google shipped an update to Chrome that fundamentally changes the sign-in experience. From now on, every time you log into a Google property (for example, Gmail), Chrome will automatically sign the browser into your Google account for you. It’ll do this without asking, or even explicitly notifying you,” Matthew Green, a cryptographer, and the professor said on his blog on Sept. 23.  Professor Green revealed that people could mistakenly activate 'sync', which means the firm can log users' behavior and access their data without them knowing.

Professor Green warned that the development has 'enormous implications for user privacy and trust'. A few weeks ago Google shipped an update to Chrome that fundamentally changes the sign-in experience', Professor Green from the Johns Hopkins Information Security Institute wrote in his blog.
The Chrome developers claim that with ‘sync’ off, a Chrome has no privacy implications. This might be true. But when pressed on the actual details, nobody seems quite sure.”

The automatic log-in poses privacy and security risks, said Green, who added that “Due to Chrome’s new user-unfriendly forced login policy – I won’t be using it going forward.” 'From now on, every time you log into a Google property (for example, Gmail), Chrome will automatically sign the browser into your Google account for you. 'It’ll do this without asking, or even explicitly notifying you', he said. This means users are unknowingly sending their data to Google if they have the 'sync' feature activated, he warned. 

According to Professor Green, the barriers between 'signed in' and 'not signed in' are gradually being eroded away. This means many of Chrome's one billion users are mistakenly consenting to their data being accessed as the Chrome sync user interface is confusing. The change makes a hash out of Google’s own privacy policies for Chrome. Google needs to stop treating customer trust like it’s a renewable resource because they’re screwing up badly.”

Google users are not happy about the Chrome update, according to ZDNet. Users are still angry. First and foremost, they are angry because they don’t have this ability to decide when they log into their browser,” ZDNet reported. “And second, they are angry because Google had failed to tell them about this new move.”

Reference:

Advertisement